Love is the ultimate feeling. But, when your partner fails to meet your expectations, it could cause you much pain and hurt. So, you may find some resort in reading poems about hurting to switch back to your happy mood. Although heartbreaks are painful, and when you go through one, your world goes upside down, you need to find ways of moving on and getting back to normalcy. Read this post as we share a distinct collection of poems on hurting that help you realize the harsh realities of love and acknowledge your feelings slowly but steadily.

37 Poems About Love And Pain

Love is all about trust, loyalty, and betrayal. Read the poems about hurting and feel the poetic lines on unfaithful love.

1. Hurt By You

Why did you have to go? Why did you leave me in the dark all alone? Why did you have to believe other people and not me? Why didn’t we just talked about it? Why did you have to walk out of my life, Like I was nothing but another girl, Like your other ex? I was so good to you, and now you think of me like any other girl. Why did you do this to me? Why did you hurt me like you did to all your exes? I though I meant the world to you. Guess your are a liar and a jerk, Just like all men. Well, I am trying to forget you and everything we had, but it hurt like hell.

2. The Dead Reborn

There is nothing to live for in this world. You tell me of love – I have seen it all. Just like the water flowing in rivers Comes and goes – love is that fever. Love is that feeling which when reigns Kills you silently, showing no signs, Nothing to live for in this world. You talk of love – I have seen it all. I don’t know – why did I choose love? There are thousands more ways to die in this world. Nothing to live for in this world. This is what my friend had told. I had seen my friend after many days Though I couldn’t recognize him – but his was a familiar face We both were sitting in a beer bar I drank two kegs so far …Nothing to live for in this world You talk of love – I have seen it all. His heart – broken – which he could not bear The world he was seeing – he had everything to fear I was keeping quiet, listening carefully Every bit of what he was saying In my heart I was praying Understanding the situation he was going through Unfortunate. Very unfortunate, but unfortunately true For once in life – I had been through the same In his voice I could feel abyssal pain Hearing it, as did mine – anyone’s eyes would rain. He got up from his place and wiped my tears. What a gentleman he was, I will remember for years. We think the world is only that much as we have seen We define life as through which we have been. Look around the bar – there are so many happy people. Love is to live for in this world, And there are things more – let’s find them all. He smiled. I smiled. We both smiled. A lot of my time this bar had spoiled. I had to go now – the door was at bar’s other end I got up and turned my back towards my friend Before I would start, something caught my mind I turned to look again at my good friend. Across the table, he was still smiling, looking towards my side I recognized my friend in the bar at last Who was that friend – in case you may ask…? He was no one but me myself – a piece of my life from my past I was reborn that very moment, and so I could smile Love is to live for in this world And there is much more – let’s find them all. — Sagar Yadav

3. Is it enough?

When we converse, it’s just surface stuff; We say some words, but is it enough? We get along; we rarely fight, But where is the spark, the joy, the delight? We’re settled into the same routine; Sometimes I’d like to flee this scene. Everything’s easy; we don’t have it rough, But sometimes I wonder: is it enough? — Joanna Fuchs

4. To The One I Love

And if eternity is the time I must wait Then I will wait all eternity For as the earth crumbles away My feelings are indestructible And if you keep going on your way I’m afraid to say I may always be trapped in this game For as long as the sun rises and the stars shine My feelings for you will stay the same.

5. Nothing Left To Loose

I don’t know what to do To get me back to you. I’ve got nothing left to lose; I’m sadness, tears and blues. All bridges have been crossed; I guess our love is lost.

6. If I’d Never Met You

If I’d never met you, I wouldn’t feel the pain Of losing your sweet love; I wouldn’t feel insane. But if I’d never met you, I wouldn’t know the pleasure Of ecstasy’s warm gifts And memories to treasure. Now moving on with life, I force a wistful grin, Questioning what went wrong, Wondering what might have been. — Joanna Fuchs

7. Farewell My Love

Is it really true our love is over now? Can it be time for us to say goodbye? Too soon, it’s much too soon, my love, for me; You smile with ease, but I can only sigh. We’ve shared our lives and given so much love; I can’t believe we’re really going to part; You’re moving toward a new life without me; I’m left with scars upon my broken heart. Go on now, if you must; I’ll get along; How much it hurts, I don’t want you to know. I’ll set you free without inducing guilt, But as you leave, the silent tears will flow. I can’t be mad; I love you way too much; I’ll hide my sadness now, so you can’t tell. Sweet happiness is what I wish for you; Farewell my love, I hope that you fare well. — Joanna Fuchs

8. Is This What Love Is?

Is this all we have together? Is this what love really is, Yelling through a quarrel And making up with a kiss? Why can’t we get along? Why do we have to fight? We starve true love by day And feed lust all through the night. I wish we’d settle down; I wonder where peace went. Why do we pick at each other; Why can’t we be content? If this is what love is, If tenderness has flown, I’m thinking more and more, It’s better to be alone. — Joanna Fuchs

9. If Raindrops Were Tears

If raindrops were tears And it rained every day, The rain couldn’t wash My heartache away. You’re still my ideal; My love never dies, But it cuts to the bone— What I see in your eyes. You want me to stop; You want to be friends, But you’ll be my true love Until breath and life ends. — Joanna Fuchs

10. Now That You’re Gone

Now that you’re gone, I realize How much you meant to me. My loss is wide as a starless night sky, And deep as a stormy sea. I miss the comfort of your sweet love, Your absolute devotion; Now I’m a fountain of endless tears, A pool of sad emotion. They tell me I should move on with life, That time will heal my pain; I smile and nod and agree with them, While I slowly go insane. — Joanna Fuchs

11. Time to Say Goodbye

My heart is breaking in me; It’s still you whom I adore; My tears are overflowing: You don’t love me anymore. I sleepwalk through each day; I pray to heaven above, Hoping you’ll change your mind, But I know I’ve lost your love. I wish that things were different; I wish it were the way it was, But reality has no pity; It just happens the way it does. Will I ever feel any better, With days when I don’t cry? No matter what, it’s time to say Goodbye, my love, goodbye. — Joanna Fuchs

12. You And Your Love

You assured me that you will love me forever, You told me that your love is true, Then why did you leave me alone, I feel like I have been thrown, From your life, I still love you so much, I still long for your touch, Will keep loving you so!

13. The Pain In Love

The pain which I got to love you, Has no resort in life, The tears that I cried for you, That feeling of being blue, You did not have a clue, That I so loved you, But you went away without telling me, Without you there is nothing left to see!

14. Still Remember The Days

Still remember the days spent with you, Still remember the silent night, When love was so pure Everything was so bright Oh why did you leave me and go, Why did you hide, Left me with emotions of blue, Sadness everywhere, Miss you with silent tears!

15. Emotional Turn

I gave my all and I gave my heart Only to get apart I don’t trust you anymore I don’t trust your ways in life Why did you cause this hurt An emotional turn, Love is for keeps and it is special In every way But, you gave Me tears And took a different way Its love lost for me And that too for life!

16. Broken Heart

Hearts are broken everyday No matter what you may say It hurts so bad It makes you feel so sad You cry and cry Over each one of his lies You thought it was true If you only knew he was playing you all along You wonder what you did wrong It may be nothing you did It’s just he still acts like a little kid He has no heart But he tears you apart You love him so much That you can still feel his touch You wish he was still here To pull you close to pull you near But soon you’ll get over the hurt And soon prepare to flirt But you know it won’t be right Not having him here at night You dream of him as you lay in bed And think of things you wish you said You think you can forgive but never forget But never live your life with regrets.

17. Love Is Not Like Before

To all the girls outside Don’t give the guy too much Just give him your sweet touch Don’t believe everything he says Guys sometimes want to play And when you’re down, look into the sky Be strong to say the word good bye Love is not like before Money is all what they’re looking for A lot of girls are blind They don’t know which guy is kind And when they feel the pain They just don’t want to love again Many years with the same guys, the two together And when the guy change, he comes with another That’s when she gets hurt by her lover We all know, when a guy change You’ll just have memories of your past That didn’t even last So don’t cry girl, you’ll find a better man The one you’ll live with him on a beautiful land A good guy now, it’s hard to find.

18. Love Hurts

I can’t believe you left just like that Leaving me with wondering if you’re ever coming back You could have told me what went wrong I could have sworn that our love was strong I didn’t know that everything you said was just a lie You left me here to do nothing but cry You were the one that holds the key To the heart that is within side for me Why has your love died for me? We used to be as happy as we could be We were best friends for so many years When I look back on the memories all I do now is shed tears I’m lying here listening to our song Thinking of how and why I liked you for so long We grew up together, you and me We’re family, but now you don’t even say hi I’ll wait for a day for us to always be together Wait for the day to prove to the world our love was forever Where ever I go there’s nowhere to hide From the memories of you I try to keep inside You were my first love and boy it’s true I will never ever get over you

19. Last Goodbye

As we say goodbye, I know I lost you forever And as we hang up the phone, that’s the last time We talked about if we left, that we’d always be good friends But as we said good-bye, that seems to be the end Do I have to move on and leave you behind? Since we got broken apart, and our love was denied? I know I won’t find another that will compare to what we had It all seemed way too good, yet in the end it turned out bad You have no clue what you’re done to my heart You made it go crazy then you tore it apart Why do I still pretend I’m fine when it is obvious I’m not? Why did I ever think you cared, tell me because I forgot The pain doesn’t seem to erase, it actually feels a lot worse Why do I seem to always fall, it’s like I’m under a curse I prayed to God that you would change your way Still nothing, not even a call for my birthday Finally I give up and try to go in another direction But the other guys didn’t give the same affection What’s the phrase that people say? “ If you were meant to be, You’d find a way back to each other” I wonder if that will be you and me Because I’m afraid I can’t love another

20. Love Again

I just want to be over you, so why do my tears still fall? You have hurt me the most, so why is it your name I call? I trusted you with all that I had Now my heart is broken and I’m so sad You made no promises, now I know why You chose this way so you could live your lie You think I was dumb, you think I didn’t know How you pretended and mislead me so You know, you acted like a fool But I loved you, you knew The words were so true Young and naive I stood by you Fighting for you till the very end Forsaking every single one of my friends You flirted with others and I just couldn’t see It was really them you wanted, not me You can’t see that I’m hurting like you’re blind to notice my pain The fact is that I will never love again.

21. Confused

Sometimes I regret but I’ll try to forget All the pain you put me through so I need to get over you You pulled on the strings of my heart I fell in love with you from the start See I tell myself I hate you, I pretend I’ve moved on But then I see you, those thoughts are all gone Do I still love you? The answer I do not know As much as I want to, I just can’t let you go Do I live without you and try to find someone new? There are consequences to both choices, and I don’t know what to do Either way, I know I’ll end up getting hurt But I’m tired of you, treating me as bad as dirt I hate to face the fact that I’ll always love you No matter how hard I try, there’s nothing I can do Sometimes you’re bad. Sometimes you’re good But you see at the end, I did the best I could I’ve cried so many tears as it would appear Now that we are a bit apart, I have this pain in my heart How can you still love someone when you’re never there When you look me in the eyes and keep saying I care Now that I’m still in love with you I’m confused and lost don’t know what to do.

22. Forever We Said

Forever we said we could be together, us two How did I fall in love with you? We did everything together We spent every day with each other You promised me that you’ll stay Close to me each and every day Why did you leave me alone? Why was it hard for you to call me on my phone? All you had to do was to be there And show to me that you care You promised to be always with me till the end You talk about being a lover and you failed to be a friend Do you remember when we were in love we’d talk every day? And when someone else would say hi to the other, we’d get jealous in everyway So many times I’ve tried to forgive you with my heart But it was too hard because I knew once again we’d part.

23. Still Waiting

You loved me just a little You never loved me long; But you gave my soul serenity And gave my heart a song. You loved me for a moment I found it in your eyes; But your mouth I could not capture By temptation or surprise. Sweet lips that I remember With a poignant surge of pain As one remembers fragrance Of the softly falling rain. Within this world of wonder Without warning I feel sad; The dream I hold still haunts me For the kiss I never had. —Elizabeth Wesley

24. I Cry

Sometimes when I’m alone I cry because I’m on my own The tears I cry are bitter and warm They flow with life but take no form I cry because my heart is torn And I find it difficult to carry on Have you ever loved someone so much but they never understood? When you were trying so hard to be good? I have tried so hard to make things work between us But some things are just a must You mean more than the world to me And now with someone else you will probably be Days I’ll pick up the phone and give you a call Days I’m so sad I don’t want to talk to you at all Can’t feel you anymore, where has love gone? I am torn once more, thought you were the one.

25. Gone Away Forever

I was so blind to think you were true Did stupid things, tried to believe in you You left me for another I promised that we’d always be together I’m trying so hard to get on with my life and move on But still so hard to believe that you are really gone I want you back, it’s driving me insane How could you cause me so much pain? I’m stuck at home trying to get you off my mind But your voice, face, and picture is all I seem to find I don’t know what happened, or where I went wrong Why do I feel like this? We were together for so long I can’t let go, I get stuck in the past I should have known we could never last I wish there was more hours in a day So in your presence longer I can stay You still want me to be your friend How can you, when everything came to an end

26. If I’d Never Met You

If I’d never met you, I wouldn’t feel the pain Of losing your sweet love; I wouldn’t feel insane. But if I’d never met you, I wouldn’t know the pleasure Of ecstasy’s warm gifts And memories to treasure. Now moving on with life, I force a wistful grin, Questioning what went wrong, Wondering what might have been. — Joana Fuchs

27. The Dark Side of Love

Is there no other way, Oh God, Except through sorrow, pain and loss, To stamp Christ’s likeness on my soul, No other way except the cross? And then a voice stills all my soul, As stilled the waves of Galilee. Can’t thou not bear the furnace, If midst the flames I walk with thee? I bore the cross, I know its weight; I drank the cup I hold for thee. Can’t thou not follow where I lead? I’ll give thee strength, lean hard on me!

28. Love Ruined Me

The way you gifted me your heart It was like a piece of fine art To give me a fresh start Your love for me is always a gain I never felt the nudge of pain It made me feel cheer in rain Your love always stood by my side Your presence was an utter pride Cushioning my life stay away from the tide Your love was a blessing in disguise Granting me a new reason to feel the surprise Making each moment special as prize Sooner time and fate changed its route Everything on my side turned mute When I was informed about your astute You entered my life playing dirty mind games To earn all your lost aims In order to earn all the name and fame Gifting me the indelible stains Throughout my veins Taking away my reign Old scars crave to hide New rules of romance set out to abide But, without you by my side. — Mitali

29. As Much As I Love You

I never knew that I could love anyone As much as I love you I never knew I had it in me to give myself away like this I never thought I’d find someone Who could take my breath away someone who could love me for who l Am And look past my mistakes I never thought I’d find someone who would stand by my side Through all my ups and downs Someone who would give me the benefit of the doubt Even when I was wrong I never knew that I could love anyone As much as I love you I never believed I’d find someone Who could love me, As much as you do.

30. Shattered Trust

Here it comes again The pain of betrayal Just the price I have to pay For being way too loyal It hits me hard again The pain of abandonment Just a follow up One being naive and ignorant There it is again The pain of losing faith Locking away my feelings Fighting against the hate I fall down again The pain of shattered trust Is there no friend who’s true? My spirit is being crushed Can’t do this again To many broken promises Maybe I’ll just give up on friendship My soul can’t handle anymore bruises…

31. Life In A Love

Escape me? Never— Beloved! While I am I, and you are you, So long as the world contains us both, Me the loving and you the loth while the one eludes, must the other pursue. My life is a fault at last, I fear: It seems too much like a fate, indeed! Though I do my best I shall scarce succeed. But what if I fail of my purpose here? It is but to keep the nerves at strain, To dry one’s eyes and laugh at a fall, And, baffled, get up and begin again, So the chase takes up one’s life ‘that’s all. While, look but once from your farthest bound At me so deep in the dust and dark, No sooner the old hope goes to ground Than a new one, straight to the self-same mark, I shape me— Ever Removed! —Robert Browning

32. Love Hurts

Is when you shed a tear and still want him, It’s when he ignores you and you still love him, It’s when he loves another girl but You still smile and, Say I’m happy for you, When all you really do is cry. — Kay Knudsen

33. I Remember

I remember clearly The day that we met The words that were spoken The emotions left unsaid I remember clearly The excitement that was felt The way you made me smile The way my heart would melt I remember clearly The wonder, the anticipation The way I was alive With joy and pure elation I remember clearly All the ways you made me feel As if it were yesterday Cause after all this time I feel that way still.

34. You Hurt…I Weep

I weep because… You bathe me with insults You smear me with whispers y You tar, feather me with gossip You trip me with snide remarks I weep because… I’m naked, the world sees My dignity stripped, You’re naked, God sees Your soul revealed For you unfaithful.

35. Key Lock To My Broken Heart

My heart is locked with so much pain black tear drops fall from my face every tear drop leaves a puddle with a memory that’s hiding from space stocked away behind my soul shattered to piece with nowhere to go Locked away to never get out to see the good side of my broken heart.

36. Forever In Time And Life

Love is forever in time, When you were all mine, We could not stand the test of love, Reasons I could not find, I loved you with all my might, But then everything went off sight Why this happened with me, Why this I had to see Love and pain is for company, Not sure would be able to love again, Not sure will be able to trust!

37. Hearts At Odds

Hearts made of wax, sent through the mail Should help relax, instead I wail, They will soon melt in time’s hot hands, Loneliness is felt midst life’s strands; Hearts made of glass shatter and fail When griefs harass, they don’t prevail, What use are these hearts so feeble, Poor pleas of perishing people? Hearts made of stone are cold and fake, Even love will own – “Hard to break”, Will they be healed? How can I trust? Feelings concealed, what if they bust? Hearts made of flesh and blood, I seek, They won’t crush my sentiments meek, Understanding hearts of love – Now, fear departs, before them I bow. — Jo Daniel